top of page

Co-Mo Connect to send four students on Youth Tour trip, five to CYCLE experience

Each year, high school Juniors in the Co-Mo Connect service territory compete to earn a spot in the annual Youth Tour trip to Washington, D.C., and the CYCLE experience held in Jefferson City. Students compete by writing speeches or making videos that answer the prompt for that year. On November 17, nine finalists from across the Co-Mo area came to Sweet Chipotle Event Center in California to compete in the finalist event, where four finalists were announced as winners of the Youth Tour trip, and five were selected as the winners of the CYCLE experience.


The Co-Mo Country area students representing Co-Mo Connect in the 2023 Youth Tour trip are Collin Althoff and Dillon Wood of California High School, Allison Drummond of Boonville High School and Brooklyn Hagan of Versailles High School.


The students representing Co-Mo at the CYCLE leadership experience in 2023 are Chase Schlup of California High School, Connor Souders of Versailles High School, Rita Xiao of Tipton High School, and Alivia Oehrke and Hannah Bauer of Stover High School. 


The four Youth Tour delegates will join up with more than 100 others selected by electric cooperatives across Missouri and descend on the nation’s capital in June to participate in the Youth Tour along with more than 1,600 students from 47 states.


“This is a great program,” said Co-Mo CEO Aaron Bradshaw after the event. “Both of these trips are outstanding leadership experiences. They look great on job and college applications and resumes. We’re happy to send some of our future leaders on these trips.”


Youth Tour began in 1957 after future president Lyndon Johnson challenged a gathering of electric cooperative leaders from across the country to send young people to Washington, D.C., so they could see what the flag truly stands for. Missouri sent its first group of delegates in 1964.


CYCLE — or the Cooperative Youth Conference and Leadership Experience as it’s formally known — lasts three days each July. For those who attend, it’s three days of learning about electric cooperatives, the Missouri government and leadership skills. Along the way, they get to have fun and make new friends, too.


“We’re committed to our youth,” said Bradshaw. “These trips open their eyes to new horizons.”


For more on these trips, click here. If your school is interested in being a part of next year’s Youth Tour program, or you have a homeschooled junior, please contact the cooperative at 800-781-0157.

CoMo Board and Finalists.JPG

Back row from left to right: Craig Allee, Bruce Wolfe, Rick Everhart, Sr., Jason Martin, Gary Harris, Gene Eulinger, Jr., Bill Betteridge, Rick Purdon, Rodney Schad, Aaron Bradshaw.

Front row from left to right: Connor Souders, Chase Schlup, Allison Drummond, Collin Althoff, Brooklyn Hagan, Dillon Wood, Alivia Oehrke, Rita Xiao, Hannah Bauer

bottom of page